Where there’s a peaceful sound

Standard

I’ve just been listening to Josh Garrels (as I often do) and heard some of my favourite lyrics, from his song “Bread and Wine”.

Where there’s a peaceful sound, lonely souls hang around.

Don’t be shy, there’s nothing left to hide. Come on let’s talk a while.

These lines always make me think of the communities that I call home- The Dale, Sanctuary, and Wine Before Breakfast. I still can’t believe that I get to work and worship at The Dale, and share fellowship and worship at both Sanctuary and at Wycliffe College on Tuesday mornings with the WBB community.

I am sometimes the lonely soul being welcomed in, and sometimes the one doing the welcoming, in all three places. The peaceful sounds that are heard include the voices of folks in the community as they/we speak and sing and share the peace. The peaceful sound heard by our souls is the song of the Spirit, that continues to sing even when we are not feeling peaceful.

In all three of these places I get to share bread and wine with other lonely souls, and by sharing this Communion meal (and many other meals throughout the week), we become less lonely. We commune. We are reminded that there’s nothing left to hide, and that we can sit and talk a while.

For all of this, I am grateful.

https://joshgarrels.bandcamp.com/track/bread-wine

2 responses »

  1. Being welcomed and doing the welcoming. That is called home. If you are only being welcomed or only doing the welcome, well that’s more like a hotel – or Walmart!! But deep homemaking is a matter of giving and receiving, welcoming and being welcomed. And, my friend, I’m so grateful for all the times that you have welcomed me, cared for me, prayed for me at Wine Before Breakfast.

Leave a Reply

