As the day rises to meet the sun

Standard

I often start my day by reading from a book called “Common Prayer: a liturgy for ordinary radicals”. The first line is always the same: “O Lord, let my soul rise up to meet you as the day rises to meet the sun.”

Due to the incredible generosity of some friends who invited me to join them on their family vacation to Mexico, I had the joy of watching the sun rise over the ocean a few days in a row last week. It was beautiful, and humbling to remember that I wasn’t actually watching the sun rise… I was rising, along with the day, to meet the sun. The sun doesn’t disappear at night, we simply turn our back on it. And the sun doesn’t revolve around us, we revolve around it.

Thanks be the God, the same applies to Him! God is there, whether we turn our backs or allow ourselves to bask in the light. We change. We go through seasons. God does not. He shines brightly whether or not we acknowledge Him. Without the sun, there is no life, and without God, there is no sun and no life!

I am deeply grateful to have had this time away to rest, reflect, read, swim, eat, swim, read, reflect, swim, eat, rest, swim… you get the idea! And I am deeply grateful to have a home like The Dale to which to return!

And I am going to try to remember, every morning, that we are rising together to meet The Sun.

20140206_072431

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

