The next step! And a story.

Standard

Hello again,

I hope that 2014 is off to a good start for you!

When I started this blog, I told you that I had just lost my job at Alternative Grounds, and that I was taking some time to consider next steps.

It is with excitement and some trepidation that I announce…

After a good deal of thinking and praying, I’ve decided to increase my support-raising efforts, in order to work full time at The Dale! This would allow me to be available for more pastoral care, outreach, supporter care, and potentially another drop-in (perhaps a cooking club, a music drop-in… who knows!).

I need to raise approximately another $900/month, in order to reach my income goal. If the support doesn’t come in by March, I will then look for another part time job. I would not see this as a failure, but as an indication that having a part time job is a good option for me.

So, dear reader, if you are not currently a financial supporter, would you consider partnering with me at The Dale in this way? There a three ways to do this:

1)      Go to canadahelps.org, enter Parkdale Neighbourhood Church, and follow the prompts

2)      Send a series of post-dated cheques to P.O. Box 94, Station C, Toronto, ON, M6K 3M7

3)      Fill out a Pre-Authorized Remittance form, and sent it to the address above, with a void cheque. This form is available under the “Donate to the Dale” tab.

(We are still working on the legal paperwork, so for now we still use “Parkdale Neighbourhood Church” for support/donations. I will let you know when this changes.)

Before I sign off, I’d like to share a story with you from this week.

At The Dale we are, for the most part, pretty open about our struggles. This includes me and Erinn, because we firmly believe that we need the support of this community just as much as we seek to be a support to the folks here. This does not mean that we dump our emotions on anyone and everyone, but that we are open about the fact that we have our own struggles, and welcome the wisdom and encouragement that our community has to offer.

This Monday I showed up to drop-in, and was greeted by a friend who spends most of his time playing one of his many guitars, and talking about his many pet snakes. He’s a softy, but he doesn’t often show it. This friend handed me a delicate little nativity scene, and said “I know you’ve been having a tough time, so this is to let you know that someone was thinking of you.”

20140117_132305

Whoa. Beautiful. I am so thankful to be part of this community!

I welcome you to join me in this community, by coming to a drop-in or to church, by praying for us, and/or by providing financial support. We are a family that is always welcoming new members!

Peace be yours,

Joanna

One response »

Leave a Reply

