A new stage on the journey…

Standard

Hello there!

As you may know, I’ve been working part time at The Dale (previously Parkdale Neighbourhood Church) for about 16 months now, as a Community Worker. The Dale is a community in Parkdale, where we work to create a safe and welcoming space in which all people, particularly the vulnerable and broken, are encouraged to participate fully, to the best of their abilities, and journey together toward a deeper experience of the life God has given us. Being part of this community is a great privilege and joy!

Up until the end of November I was also working at Alternative Grounds, an independent/fair trade/organic type of cafe on Roncesvalles. Due to really unfortunate and unforeseen circumstances, the cafe shut down about 2 weeks ago, with only a few days notice for everyone involved.

And so… I find myself in a new stage on the journey! And I’ve decided to start blogging about it.

People have been asking me, “What’s next?”, “Will you look for another job?”, “Will you go full time at The Dale?”. The truth is, I don’t really know. I raise my own support, and up until now I have raised enough to work part time at The Dale. However, in God’s superb timing, I received a significant donation towards my salary the very day before I found out that I would no longer have a job at Alternative Grounds! So I can afford to increase my hours at The Dale, at least for a month or two, while I consider my options. This means that I get to come to our Wednesday art drop in (I used to work every Wednesday at the cafe), engage in more outreach and pastoral care, and focus on support raising and supporter care.

The question remains… What comes next? Should I increase my support-raising efforts, and trust that God will provide the funds for me to work full time at The Dale? Should I look for another coffee shop job, or another type of job to supplement my income and provide a bit of balance to the intensity of ministry? I honestly don’t know.

And so, I invite you to join me in praying for wisdom, clarity and peace, as I discern my next steps. I will be using this blog to keep you posted, and to share more about my life at The Dale.

I am so thankful for the many wonderful people who are with me on this journey!

6 responses »

  1. way to go joey. I love the beautiful design at the top of the page. gorgeous colours! will certainly believe in you and in God for good things to come as your begin the next stage of your journey.
    blog on!!
    xoxo mom

  2. Sorry to hear about Alternative Grounds closing and the loss of your job. I’m sure the next step will reveal itself in its own time. Will keep you and your work in my prayers. Much love to you and wishing you a joyous Christmas. xoxo

  3. Sorry about the loss of your job but God will guide and direct. We will certainly pray for His guidance. He has a plan for you..
    Blessings.

Leave a Reply

